Official Release Series #4 (CD Box Set)

Official Release Series #4 (CD Box Set)

Pre-order included
  • In Stock

Bundle includes:

• Cocaine Eyes Digital Single FLAC

• Official Release Series #4 (CD Box Set)


This box set continues the chronological re-releasing of Neil Young’s Official Releases, remastered where analog tapes exist. Volume 4, released as a 4 LP box and 4 CD box.

The ORS Vol 4 collects an eclectic set of decade-spanning sounds. Hawks & Doves (1980) revisits his folk roots and explores some of his most country-leaning offerings; the blistering Re•ac•tor (1981) showcases a stomping set of heavy, overdriven rock with Crazy Horse; and This Note’s for You (1988) casts Young as a big band leader, belting out intricately arranged blues. The Eldorado EP (1989),  a 5 track mini-album, previously only released on CD in Australia and Japan, is full of feral distortion and earthy crunch featuring Young backed by The Restless (Chad Cromwell and Rick Rosas). It includes two thundering tracks — “Cocaine Eyes” and “Heavy Love”— not available on any other album, along with different versions of 3 tracks that appeared on Freedom later the same year.

The vinyl of Hawks & Doves, Re*Ac*Tor and This Notes for You have all been remastered from the original analog tapes.
Eldorado vinyl is mastered using the 44/16 digital master.
The CD’s of Hawks & Doves, Re*Ac*Tor both use the original 176/24 digital master. 
This Notes for You and Eldorado use the 44/16 digital master.

  1. Hawks & Doves:
  2. Little Wing
  3. The Old Homestead
  4. Lost In Space
  5. Captain Kennedy
  6. Stayin’ Power
  7. Coastline
  8. Union Man
  9. Comin’ Apart At Every Nail
  10. Hawks & Doves


  1. Re*Ac*Tor
  2. Opera Star
  3. Surfer Joe And Moe The Sleaze
  4. T-Bone
  5. Get Back On It
  6. Southern Pacific
  7. Motor City
  8. Rapid Transit
  9. Shots


  1. This Note’s For You
  2. Ten Men Workin’
  3. This Note’s For You
  4. Coupe De Ville
  5. Life In The City
  6. Twilight
  7. Married Man
  8. Sunny Inside
  9. Can’t Believe Your Lyin’
  10. Hey Hey
  11. One Thing


  1. Eldorado
  2. Cocaine Eyes
  3. Don’t Cry
  4. Heavy Love
  5. On Broadway
  6. Eldorado